Aga Khan Foundation International Scholarship Programme

Every institution in the world accepts Aga Khan Foundation International scholarship programme, with the exception of those in Germany, the UK, Austria, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, Italy, Ireland, and Norway. In order to foster successful leaders and academics and prepare them for work, the Aga Khan Foundation exclusively offers a small number of postgraduate scholarships each year to students from their home countries.

The Aga Khan Foundation provides a limited number of scholarships each year for postgraduate studies to outstanding students from select developing countries who have no other means of financing their studies, in order to develop effective scholars and leaders and to prepare them for employment, primarily within the AKDN.

Recipients of the scholarship can apply for the universities of the US, Canada, the UK, France, and Portugal.

Aga Khan Foundation Scholarships are awarded on a 50% grant and 50% loan.
Students can opt to pursue any PG level program in Canada, the US, and other eligible countries.
Preference is given to applications made for the master’s program.
Short-term programs like PG diplomas or certificates are not covered.

What The Scholarship Offers

Every year, students from developing countries hope to study in the universities of Canada, the US, the UK, France, and Portugal. The Aga Khan Foundation Scholarships are designed for the meritorious students of these countries, providing them an opportunity to fulfill their dream.

The Foundation provides tuition fees and living expenses to the recipients of the Aga Khan Foundation Scholarships.

Funding for Ph.D. programs in the UK, US, and Canada, is provided only for the first two years of study, after which the students are expected to find alternative sources of help.

The foundation may give preference to those candidates who have already acquired some part of financial assistance from other sources and the minimum amount of help is requested.

Half the borrowing is deemed a loan to be reimbursed with a 5% annual service charge.
The loan agreement has to be co-signed by a guarantor.
The payback period is five years, beginning six months after the period of study.
It is preferable that the students consider this International Scholarship Programme as the last resort and first try to obtain help from other sources to help the foundation in assisting other more needful students.

Eligibility Criteria For Aga Khan Foundation International Scholarship Programme

The Aga Khan Foundation Scholarships are open for the students who are the residents of the country where the AK Foundation, AK Education Service, AK Education Board has its local office.

The preferred age limit for application is under 30 years of age.
Students who originally come from one of the developing countries where Aga khan has its local office and are involved in development-related studies and have no other means to fund their education can send an application for a scholarship to study in the UK, France, Portugal, USA, and Canada.

Recipients of the Aga Khan Foundation Scholarships are assessed on the following basis:

Consistent academic excellence
Genuine financial requirement
Admission to a reputed program and university in the US, France, UK, and Canada.
Relevance of the opted program to the focus areas of the AKF.
Candidates with relevant experience will be preferred. Furthermore, the selection committee also focuses on the applicant’s career goals, extra-curricular interests, and achievements.

Application Process 

The application process for Aga Khan Foundation International Scholarship Program is different for each country. The general application process includes:

Application forms must be obtained from AKF office/ Aga Khan Education Services/Boards, January 1 onwards.

Completed AKF’s International Scholarship Program application should be returned to the agency.

List Of Eligible Countries For The Aga Khan Foundation’s Scholarship


Accepted Subject Areas For The Aga Khan Foundation’s Scholarship

Masters and PhD focused areas are Architecture, Health, Civil Society, Planning & Building, Culture, Rural Development, Economic Development, Humanitarian Assistance, Education, Music.


Related Searches

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *