IBM Postgraduate Fellowship Awards

The IBM Postgraduate Fellowship Awards is awarded to students from all nationalities. Awardees are usually selected through faculty nominations. The fellowship is a two year course anchored on major IBM research areas of interest and is fully funded.


The IBM PhD Fellowship Awards is an intensely competitive worldwide program, which honors exceptional PhD students who want to make their mark in promising technologies.


Overview Of The IBM Postgraduate Fellowship Awards


Since 1951, the IBM PhD Fellowship Program has collaborated with faculty, students and universities by recognizing and supporting exceptional PhD students that address focused areas of interest in technology.


IBM brings together hundreds of researchers who possess deep industry expertise across domains. Collaborating with clients in the field and in its global THINKLab network, IBM addresses some of the most challenging problems and creates disruptive technologies that hold the potential to transform companies, industries and the world at large. For more than seven decades, IBM has collaborated with clients and universities to work on multi-disciplinary projects that quickly lead to prototypes, as well as long-term projects that last for years. IBM has an environment that nurtures some of the most innovative and creative thinking in the world.


Areas Of Interest


  • Hybrid Cloud


  • Cybersecurity


  • Quantum Computing / Quantum Systems


  • Artificial Intelligence


  • Data Science


  • Internet of Things

Fellowship Value


The IBM Postgraduate Fellowship Awards are awarded worldwide: the value of the awards vary by the country in which the university is located (Award values may also vary per year).


Awards for universities in the United States are $60,000 in year one; $35,000 in award year two.


Awards for other countries vary between $6,000 and $25,000 each award year


IBM Postgraduate Fellowship Awards Eligibility Criteria


All nominees for the IBM PhD Fellowship;


  • must be nominated by a doctoral faculty member; students cannot nominate themselves.


  • must be enrolled full-time in a PhD program over the two consecutive academic years of the award or forfeit the fellowship.


  • must have three years remaining in their program at the time of nomination so the fellowship can be applied to the last two years of study. 


  • must not be from a U.S. embargoed country.


  • receiving a comparable fellowship, internship, or support from another company or institution (except for academic scholarships) during the IBM PhD Fellowship funding period are ineligible for this award.


  • must stay in the same program for the duration of the award —no transferring of departments or schools.


Selection Criteria 


Awardees will be selected based upon


  • Their potential for research excellence. All awardees will have an IBM mentor for the duration of the award period and are strongly encouraged to intern during the first or second year of their award.


  • The degree to which the nominees’ research aligns with IBM’s focus areas.


  • Academic standing, publications, and endorsements from faculty advisors and department heads.


  • Nominating faculty must submit thoroughly developed proposals, remain engaged during the vetting and due diligence process, and use the university domain email address for all correspondence.


Application Process


Visit the Fellowship Webpage here to access the Nomination form.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *